Thank you to the WRSTEF Sponsors!

Without the generous support of our sponsors the Fair would not be possible!

EN / FR

Student & Teacher Resources

 

Student Success - Student Guide

 

Student Success - Teacher Guide

 

 Marking Rubric (experiment)

 

 New Project Categories

 

 The WRSTEF abstract *NEW for 2024

 

 Step-by-step registration procedures

 

 Sharing a document from your cloud storage


Resources for Students, Parents and Teachers

 

Youth Science Canada (YSC) is a non-profit organization which together with the host committee organizes the Canada Wide Science Fair each year. The WRSTEF follows the policies put in place by YSC. These policies are available at youthscience.ca.

 

For very important information regarding the use of humans or animals, please read the policies set out by YSC and visit the Ethics and Safety page before filling out your Safety checklist. Please contact the chief judges at chair@wrstef.ca if your project involves human participants or animals. We reserve the right to reject projects involving human participants. If you have any questions about the process, please contact us. 

 

If you are using animal or human participants, the first step is to fill out this form

 

Academic Honesty

 

The WRSTEF is a stepping stone for future scientists, engineers and other professionals. The WRSTEF expects projects to be the original work of students and to acknowledge the source of any content that is the work of others, including the use of Artificial Intelligence. Upon suspicion of plagiarism (which may include contributions of Artificial Intelligence), self-plagiarism,  or falsifying of data, a sub-committee of the WRSTEF (which may include Chair, Vice-Chair, Chief Judge, Board Liaison and any other pertinent members) may review the project using any available tool at their discretion. This matter will be kept as confidential as possible. Sanctions for any type of academic misconduct may include disqualification from the WRSTEF for the current year. (*) Based on the YSC Policy on Academic Misconduct which can be found here

 

Where to start ?

 

If you are a student and don't know where to start, the Science Success Student Guide is an excellent starting point to brainstorm ideas, execute background research, maintain a logbook, and how to generate and interpret data. 

 

If you are a teacher and would like to organize a fair at your school, the Science Success Teacher's guide explains step by step how to guide your students and organize the activity. Of course, we are always available to help you too! Send an email to the Chair and will gladly walk you through the steps. 

 

New for WRSTEF2024 - New Project Categories

 

New Project Categories

We have rearranged our project categories to align ourselves with YSC, our parent organization. Projects will now be registered in one of these new categories:

 

If you are a Novice participant (grades 4 to 6), you will be entered in the Curiosity Category and we ask that you specify your project topic.

 

More information can be found in this document

 

Proposed Itinerary

 

As of February 19th, here is the itinerary for the fair day.

 

Time Item
8:30 AM - 10:00 AM Check-in, project setup and safety checks
10:00 AM - 11:30 AM Activity per division
11:30 AM - noon Lunch (provided by WRSTEF)
noon - 2:00 PM Judging
2:00 PM - 3:00 PM Public viewing
3:00 PM Tear down

Merci aux commanditaires de l'ESRW !

On peut organiser une foire grâce à leur appui généreux !

EN / FR

Ressources pour enseignants et élèves

 

 Réussir en sciences - guide élève

 

 Réussir en sciences - guide enseignant

 

Grille d'évaluation (expérience)

 

 Nouvelles catégories de projets

 

 Le résumé *NOUVEAU pour  2024 (en anglais)

 

 Les étapes d'inscriptions (en anglais)

 

 Comment partage un document depuis le nuage (en anglais)


Ressources pour les participants,les enseignants et les parents

 

Le document le plus important à lire pour cette foire est ce guide de projet (voir l'encadré) et cette feuille de route de sécurité (disponible ultérieurement). Ces documents sont particuliers à notre foire.

 

Science Jeunesse Canada (YSC) est un organisme à but non lucratif et organise l'exposcience Pan-canadienne avec un comité local. L'ESRW observe les politiques mises en place par YSC. Vous pouvez consulter leurs politiques à youthscience.ca.

 

Si les sujets de projets sont des animaux ou des personnes, veuillez lire les politiques de YSC et visiter le site web de déontologie et remplir les documents pertinents avant de remplir la feuille de route de sécurité. Veuillez communiquer avec le juge en chef à chair@wrstef.ca si si votre projet se sert d'animaux ou de personnes. Nous réservons le droit de refuser des projets se servant des personnes. Si vous avez des questions quant au processus, veuillez communiquer avec nous. 

 

Si vous vous servez de sujets humains ou animaux, veuillez remplir ce formulaire.

 

Honnêteté académique

 

L'ESRW est un tremplin pour nos futurs scientifiques, ingérieurs et autres professionels. Nous nous attendons que les recherches soient originales et que toute source soit reconnue telles que les travaux d'autres chercheurs ainsi que toute inspiration provenant d'intelligence artificielle. Si nous nous doutons du plagiat (comme des contributions d'intelligence artificielle, plagiat, autoplagiat ou de falsification des données), un sous-comité de l'ESRW (incluant la présidente, la vice-présidente, la juge en chef, le représentant du conseil, ainsi que tout autre membre pertinent) pourrait revoir le projet en se servant de tout outil à leur discretion. Cette enquête demeure confidentielle dans la mesure du possible. Les sanctions pour ce genre de malhonnêteté académique pourrait résulter en une disqualification de l'ESRW pour l'année en cours. (*) Cette politique est basée sur la politique de SJC sur la mauvaise conduite académique que vous pouvez accéder ici.

 

Par où commencer ?

 

Si vous êtes un élèves et vous ne savez pas où commencer, il y a des ressources dans l'encadré à la droite pour débuter votre recherche.

 

Nouveauté à compter de ESRW2024 - Nouvelles catégories de projets

 

Nouvelles catégories de projet

Nous avons changé les catégories de projets afin de nous aligner avec celles de notre organisme parent. Les projets seront organisés selon les catégories suivantes :

 

 

Si tu es un participant Novice (4e à la 6e année), tu seras automatiquement inscrit dans la catégorie Curiosité et on te demande de spécifier le sujet de ton projet.

 

Pour plus de renseignements, svp consulter ce document.

 

Horaire de la journée

 

À compter du 19 février, 2024, voici l'horaire de la journée. 

 

Time Item
8h30 - 10h00  Enregistrement, installation et vérification de la sécurité
10h00 - 11h30  Activité par division
11h30 - 12 h 00 Dîner (fourni par l'ESRW)
12 h 00 - 14 h 00 Jugement
14 h 00 - 15 h 00 Visionnement public
15 h 00 Démantèlement